autotuning paper

a zwinkau
2009-11-10
2013-04-25
  • a zwinkau

a zwinkau - 2009-11-10

Greetings!

I'm writing a paper about auto-tuning parallel apps and i'm looking for applications to tune. While benchmark suites like parsec are fine, i want to discuss an example application in detail and i thought about pixie. I have no practical rendering experience apart from rendering some example files with pixie.

I need a pretty scene to render (so if anyone wants to show off in a scientific paper, this is your chance ;)

We developed an auto-tuning tool, which will then try various configurations and try to find the fastest one using various heuristic search algorithms. After skimming the manual the interesting parameters i found are: number of threads and the limit options (gridsize, bucketsize, etc.)

Do you think pixie is a suitable test case for auto-tuning? Any tips about configurations? Scene proposals?

• Moritz Moeller

Moritz Moeller - 2009-11-10

From using these renderers in production for 14 years, I'd say: not really.
    Because speed is secondary. First priority is getting an image and getting a good/correct looking image.

Just for example: messing with gridsize can impact quality.

Gridsize is a function of bucketsize and shadingrate. Because gridsize should roughly match bucketsizeX * buckesizeY / shadingrate.

So while your shading performance will increase if you choose larger gridsizes (no surprise here), adjacent grids might jump in actual shading rate where they meet.
    The max. gridsize I ever used is 1024 and this can already get tricky, if you're looking at a surface at a grazing angle.

So one thing an autotune tool needed to do was comparing the resulting image with a known good image (say, rendered with 20x20 pixel samples and a shadingrate of 0.1) and see how much it differs.
    And someone need to define what "much" is (and this may differ, depending on what is being rendered).