Nothing available after import of GEDCOM

Help
Dixioldie
2011-03-21
2013-05-30
  • Dixioldie

Dixioldie - 2011-03-21

Hello,
    I'm an absolute newbee with phpGedView. So, don't hit me on my had, if I ask a silly question now:
    I have created a file with a program called "Ahnenblatt" (from http://www.ahnenblatt.de). I have created this file as GEDCOM formatted data.
    But: after the import, there is absolutely nothing in my phpGedView database (database was empty before).
    Can anybody tell me, what I'm doing wrong?
    Thanks in advance for any help.

• Gerry Kroll

Gerry Kroll - 2011-03-21

Were the tables created properly in your previously empty database? 

How did you get the GEDCOM created by Ahnenblatt into the PhpGedView system?  It's possible that this file contains an error, but to determine that I would need to look at a copy of the file.

• Michael A. Crane, Jr.

I am also a first time phpGedView user, and seem to have the same problem that dixiodie is having.

Nothing I try will get my installed version of phpGedView 4.2.4 to upload a ged file. I have tried ged files produced from two separate sources, and neither will work. Every attempt just gets me a 404 page.

I have tried installing the ged file manually via ftp, and still a no go.

I have looked over all the documentation, followed all the hard to understand, and inadequate, instructions, and nothing works.

I would love to get this thing working.

MACJR

• Stephen Arnold

Stephen Arnold - 2011-04-01

MACJR
    There is a huge difference between putting the file (upload) into a folder from which PGV can 'import' it, than 'installing' the GEDCOM file. From what you've written, I can not determine which steps you have taken and which remain to accomplish.

1) You did a full installation of PGV? (We would suggest the SVN tarball version, but at least the 4.2.4 release. There are several important reports fixes and some other niggles that are fixed in SVN.)