What are these (unknown) tags in my database?

Help
ACorduan
2011-03-21
2013-05-30
  • ACorduan

ACorduan - 2011-03-21

I have been using PhpGedView for many years.  I recently upgraded to 4.2.3, upgraded MySQL, and upgraded PHP to make it all work.  Now many of my people have a bogus (unknown) tag just before the last name . . . no idea where that comes from.  Example:  http://www.corduan.com/PhpGedview/individual.php?pid=I24&ged=Cordua.GED  . . . here is the raw Gedcom for that person.  Any clues?

Thanks,

-Alfred

0 @I24@ INDI
    1 NAME Carl Georg Heinrich /Cordua/
    2 SURN Cordua
    1 SEX M
    1 BIRT
    2 DATE 27 AUG 1800
    1 FAMC @F4@
    1 NOTE Family tree says "early" for death
    1 CHAN
    2 DATE 26 FEB 2008
    3 TIME 14:44:22
    2 _PGVU nys
    1 OBJE @M1@
    1 OBJE @M2@
    1 OBJE @M4@
    1 OBJE @M5@
    1 DEAT
    2 DATE DEAD
    2 NOTE "Early" is note on family tree when death date should go
    1 NOTE Nys says:
    2 CONT
    2 CONT "geb. 27.VIII, get. 31.VIII.1800 zu Wardow. Paten 1) Pensionär Schroeder zu Kobow, 2)Schreiber Berg zu Diestlow, 3) Bürgermeister Cordua zu Sternberg
    2 CONT Ist anscheinend früh gestorben. Denn sein Bruder Theodor schreibt in seiner Lebensbeschreibung, daß er mit zwei älteren und einem jüngeren Bruder erzogen worden ist. Auch lebten bei dem Tode seiner Mutter nach ihrer Todesanzeige nur noch sieben Kinder.
    2 CONT
    2 CONT
    2 CONT Unterlagen von Hayo Pfohl"

• ACorduan

ACorduan - 2011-03-21

Figured it out . . . *sigh* . . . apparently the new version demands a GIVN tag, whereas the old version did not.  When I add that, my (unknown) disappears.

Is this a feature or a bug?  :-)

Thanks,

-Alfred

• Gerry Kroll

Gerry Kroll - 2011-03-21

This is an "undocumented feature" (i.e., a bug).

You can fix the problem by editing each name and saving it.  You don't actually have to change anything.  This will automatically add the missing 2 GIVN sub-record.