Menu

Mile Per Gallon Calculations

2008-06-03
2013-04-17
  • Jim Baldwin

Jim Baldwin - 2008-06-03

Remi,

I have been using pFuel for several years.  One thing has always confused me but have never gotten around to asking about it.  The Miles Per Gallon calculation by pFuel does not appear to be accurate.  I always get "Full Tank" and get 350 plus miles per tank full.  Just yesterday I filled up.  Took 15.25 gallons.  Prior odometer reading was 1,685.9.  Yesterday's odometer reading was 2055.3 (new car) miles.  The difference being 369.4 miles.  While pFuel calculated the 369.4 miles correctly, pFuel calculated the MPG as 29.08.  Manual calculations (369.4/15.25) comes to 24.2229 MPG which is very close to my car's onboard mileage calculation.  I have checked and rechecked pFuel's setting and cannot figure out why pFuel gives a different MPG calculation than the manually calculated result.  I have checked all the preferences and they appear to be correct.  What am I doing wrong?  Jim Baldwin, Southfield, MI

• Remi Ricard

Remi Ricard - 2008-06-03

Hi,

Are you using Gallons or US Gallons and are mixing both ?

In the car preference check if you have
      Fuel: US Gallons or Gallons

Then check if for the Efficiency you have
      Miles/Gallons or Miles/US Gallons

369.4 / 15.25 US Gallons = 24.2229 Miles / US Gallons

369.4 / 15.24 US Gallons * 0.832 Gallons / US Gallons = 29.1 Miles/ Gallons

Gallons to US Gallons = 1.200952
      24.2229 * 1.20 = 29.06

Remi

• Jim Baldwin

Jim Baldwin - 2008-06-03

Remi,

Thank you for your reply.

I am afraid I have messed things up.  I seemed to have lost the pFuel data and can't tell you what the preferences were.  Iknow it was set to Miles/US Gallons.  I am only quessing I would have selected Fuel as US Gallons.