DWL-650 and D-Link AP 713P

Kar-Yeong
2001-08-22
2013-04-08
  • Kar-Yeong

Kar-Yeong - 2001-08-22

I have the DWL-650 card and the d-link 713P access point. I tried configuring the card on slackware with pcmcia package 2.2.27. Everything went fine but I seems to not able to connect to my access point (channel 6).. Anybody has the same setting that are willing to help?

Thanks

• Kar-Yeong

Kar-Yeong - 2001-08-22

I'm sorry, the pcmcia package is 3.1.27 instead.

• Jean Tourrilhes

Jean Tourrilhes - 2001-08-23

1) Which driver are you using ?
          2) The Access Point has a bug, only the very latest orinoco_cs has the workaround.

Jean

• Kar-Yeong

Kar-Yeong - 2001-08-24

Thanks, I'll try the orinoco_cs, I think that's in the kernel, right?

• Kar-Yeong

Kar-Yeong - 2001-08-26

got them to work, had to upgrade 713p firmware too

• Anonymous - 2003-12-17

I am a newbie just starting out so I have no idea at all on Linux.I just installed it on a laptop and have a wireless card DWL-650.I can not get it to work as far as I can see.I need help bad in order to get it to work I think.Can someone please help me out step by step to get this working?
      I have also tried the Linksys wpc11 card with same results.Yes I have either one that I can use to setup with.Please if you can help me,you can email me at n1rsp@qsl.net .I will thank you in advance.
      I am using a Gateway Solo 5300 laptop if that makes any difference.I loaded Redhat 9.0.

• Ima Sudonim

Ima Sudonim - 2003-12-17

I am using a different router (netgear WGR614). I am also using yellowdog linux on a G3 powerbook (PPC), with a custom kernel 2.4.22.

I can modprobe orinoco_cs

But iwconfig eth2 still returns

eth2 No such device

/var/log/messages has
      modprobe: Can't locate module eth2

/etc/sysconfig/networking/devices has
      ifcfg-eth2 defined and the information in it is right for my network

cardctl ident returns:
      Socket 0: