THE Alternative to corrupt database probs

Sky
2006-10-31
2012-09-17
  • Sky

Sky - 2006-10-31

Sorry to have to suggest this, but use KeePass.

I've used password safe for a couple years and liked it, but when I got into trouble not being able to move from a 3 Beta to final code and was told to install older versions, run exports, imports, play with columns...I said screw that. I even saw somewhere that the Beta was NOT intended for real work, so basically too bad. Ouch, that sounds like an Alpha to me - maybe it shouldn't have been released...or if it was a genuine bug, give people a decent way out.

Anyway I'm quite happy with KeePass (http://keepass.sourceforge.net/) It works good and has polish.

• Sky

Sky - 2006-10-31

Ya. I'm a total newb dude. Tracking my passwords are hardly mission critical, but I would expect that running a beta wouldn't impact my ability to upgrade, but maybe in my tiny understanding of the computing world that's how it is. If you run a piece of beta software you cant upgrade.

I don't know one developer or techie that isn't running some beta software.

Let me ask you this, do you have any beta software installed? Do you expect to have to print out all your docs from your beta word processor and retype them in to the final version or do you just suffer from mental diarrhea? Idiot.

• Ron

Ron - 2006-10-31

You sure sound like a total newb to me! Beta software is for testing, and that is what I (and the other developers I know) use it for. You expect there to be problems (that's why it's called Beta!). And, I don't type in documents I need to save into a Beta word processor. Nor would I keep the only copy of my password database in Beta software. Etc., etc. Only an "idiot" (or a newb) would!

• Sky

Sky - 2006-10-31

Whatever, there is no reasoning with you. I lost nothing! I could continue to use the beta for years to come. I expect issues - just not issues preventing upgrading.