Menu

Repair damaged files *in place*

2006-11-05
2013-05-23
  • Nobody/Anonymous

When repairing a bad file, it looks like the damaged file is renamed, and then a new file is created with the correct data.  Do any of the PAR2 clients try to repair damaged files directly, without creating (even temporarily) a duplicate file?

If recovering a file basically implies that a second copy of the file needs to be made on the drive, this becomes problematic for very large files.  For example, imagine a 10GB file with 3MB blocks where 2 blocks are bad.  Why do we need to create a 2nd 10GB file on the drive to complete the repair?

It seems like it should be possible to seek around the existing file and rewrite just the bad blocks directly... wouldn't this be significantly faster too?  I'm not an expert in the Reed-Solomon algorithm, so I don't know if there's something about how the algorithm works that would preclude this...

Thanks,
    --Jeremy

• S. Jamison Wilde

One of the main issues with this, is that the data can be out of place, not just corrupt.  In particular many newsreaders do not add padding for missing parts when they join the pieces for each article.  This is why in some newsreaders you will see that the file is less than all of the others that aren't incomplete.  The problem is, that in order for the rest of the file to not become unusable after the point where there was the missing piece, the par2 algorithm will start going byte by byte looking for a new block until it finds one, and finished processing the file.