Osmius WebApp isn't available...

paradonym
2011-02-22
2013-05-01
  • paradonym

paradonym - 2011-02-22

I'm going to install Osmius Server in an VMware OpenSuse 11.2 (x86) machine to test it for bigger a bigger monitoring solution.
    The installation is successful, but when I install the server with the local IP ( for example 10.150.0.40 - from Terminal-> ifconfig), the WebApp isn't available…
    When I install the server on 127.0.0.1 or localhost the WebApp is available, but only inside the VM.
    When I install the server on the IP from ifconfig, the WebApp isn't available either in the VM or outside the VM.

How can I install Osimus to make the WebApp also available outside the VM?
    The VM is configured as "bridged network" to have another IP inside the VM…

(…sry for my english… I'm a german apprentice. If anything is unintelligible, ask me…)

• Manuel Fraga

Manuel Fraga - 2011-02-22

Hello,

Firstly thanks for using Osmius.

We have installed many Osmius servers in virtual environments with "bridget network" and has never happened what you tell us. There is no restriction on Osmius to limit access to the WebApp from the host where it is deployed. Could it be a route or IP problem?

Anyway
    1.- Are you using the one-click installer?
    2.- Are you installing Osmius 11.01?
    3.- Is there any firewall installed? Is 8080 port of the 10.150.0.40 address  reachable  from another machine of the network? Please, try "ping 10.150.0.40" and "nmap 10.150.0.40 -p 8080" from another machine.
    4.- Do you see the Tomcat page if you connect to http://10.150.0.40:8080?
    5.- Can you see any errors in /opt/osmius/ apache-tomcat/logs at Osmius server machine?
    6.- To rule out errors of Osmius installer can configure 0.0.0.0 as Osmius server IP address to force Osmius listen on all network interfaces.

Please let us know the progress on this issue,

Regards.

• paradonym

paradonym - 2011-02-22