Menu

Why do I get undefined reference errors in Dev-C++?

Compiling
2021-01-24
2023-11-30
  • William Fulford

William Fulford - 2021-01-24

I am new to Dev C++ (5.1) on Windows 10. I typically do my C++ development on RedHat Linux.

In Dev-C++, I've created a project with two classes:

BlackJackTutorManager
    BlackJackTutorTerminalIo

BlackJackTutorManager calls methods in BlackJackTutorTerminalIo and vice versa, e.g.

myBlackJackTutorIo->setComments(currentWhyStr);
    myBlackJackTutorManager->initValues();

When I try to Compile or Build All I get undefined references:

C:\Users\Owner\AppData\Local\Temp\cca9k4mX.o:BlackJackTutorTerminalIo.cpp:(.text+0x67): undefined reference to BlackJackTutorManager::BlackJackTutorManager()' C:\Users\Owner\AppData\Local\Temp\cca9k4mX.o:BlackJackTutorTerminalIo.cpp:(.text+0xac): undefined reference to BlackJackTutorManager::initValues()' C:\Users\Owner\AppData\Local\Temp\cca9k4mX.o:BlackJackTutorTerminalIo.cpp:(.text+0x584): undefined reference to BlackJackTutorManager::dealNewDeck()' C:\Users\Owner\AppData\Local\Temp\cca9k4mX.o:BlackJackTutorTerminalIo.cpp:(.text+0x5c6): undefined reference to BlackJackTutorManager::decide(int)' C:\Users\Owner\AppData\Local\Temp\cca9k4mX.o:BlackJackTutorTerminalIo.cpp:(.text+0x5ea): undefined reference to `BlackJackTutorManager::why()'