Approach

jmarcure
2007-01-16
2013-04-24
  • jmarcure

jmarcure - 2007-01-16

Hi,

Looks like I’m the first.
    Let me just give a little background. I’m a Sr. Technical Systems Analyst which is a title that is only meaningful to my employer. What I do is design computer programs based on input from a business analyst. I have designed quite a few interface type programs to allow different systems to communicate with one another. As I am not a programmer my interest in your project is strictly from the perspective of how you are going to go about the separation of the core from the visual and the subsequent interfacing of external programs to the core.

I really have no clue what approach you have in mind but I’ll throw out a couple of conjectures. The first would be an API approach much like you are now doing but without any visualization code in the core.  The second would be more of an interface that gets called as needed by any type of program. This would allow the core to run in the background and be entirely separate form any other effort. As I said the first approach is similar to what you are now doing but the second in more similar the Microsoft approach for their flight simulator.

It’s a bit difficult to offer any more or go further without more input as to direction. That is unless at this point you really have none and are looking for ideas. If that is the case then I’d lean more towards the interface approach as it offers the ability to be more easily used by other systems.

Later,
    Jon  

• Seth

Seth - 2007-01-24

Hey Jon,

Well looks like I've finally made it in here. A little background about myself: I just graduated from college with a degree in Computer Science and a minor in Math, May 2005. I was helping with Orbiter since nearly the beginning in late 2001 or early 2002.