Navigating to Detail page for subclass

2012-12-09
2013-03-04
  • Patrik Jonsson

Patrik Jonsson - 2012-12-09

Hi

I am fairly new to OpenXava, love the tool and would need help.

I have created a hierarchy of objects using OneToMany relationships.
    E.g. Organization OneToMany OrganizationElement

I also use an inheritance hierarchy such as that Organization, Person and Office all extends OrganizationElement.

When I show the detail of Organization, I would want to be able to click on a listed Person or Organization and have their respective specific detail view opened (e.g. Person Detail or Organization Detail).

I have looked a good deal at some of the posts and have found some that seem to be about something like this, but not quite. My coding attempts all turn out fairly clumsy and it seems that this should be fairly straightforward.

Also I wonder if there is a way to show all Collections of a Detail page as collapsed by default?

Patrik

• Javier Paniza

Javier Paniza - 2012-12-11

Hi Patrik,

When I show the detail of Organization, I would want to be able to click on
    a listed Person or Organization and have their respective specific detail
    view opened (e.g. Person Detail or Organization Detail).

By default, it work in that way, it open the detail into a dialog.
    Do you want to show it in a plain view in the same module or changing the module?
    Do you want that behavior for certain collection or for all the collections of your application.

In any case you have to use @EditAction on the collection to define your own action. If you create this action generic enough would be nice if you contribute it to OpenXava. I think it's not difficult.

Also I wonder if there is a way to show all Collections of a Detail page as
    collapsed by default?

Good question! Try this code in an init action:

getView().setFrameClose("mycollection", true);

Does it work for you?
    Do you want the frame closed for a concrete module or for the entire application?