SourceForge has been redesigned. Learn more.
Close

Is the Captured by XPath field in the XML Parser supported on v1.5.3

Help
2014-05-25
2014-05-27
  • Dave Walton

Dave Walton - 2014-05-25

Hi : V1.5.3 - build 390f883772

I am totally new to the product and have just started playing with the features to see how well it matches my reqs. I have experience of configuring FAST ESP, so am not new to search engines.

I am trying to extract a specific element of a crawled XML file into an index field . See my process I tried below..
    I succeeded in filling a custom field with ALL content and outputting in a query as expected just by NOT setting the capture reg field at all, so I am confident that I am using it ok.

Question. Is xpath currently supported, I can’t get it to work ? Is there an example showing expected format of the Capture reg Exp field ?

Am I missing a link to documentation on the content collection side, I cannot see any ?

cheers
    Dave

process

I assume the process is
    - Create field (stored so as can be output)
    - Edit the existing XML parser
    - Add a new Field mapping
    : Parser field = content
    : Index field = my new one
    : Capture Reg.Exp = standard XPATH (like /aaa/bbb )
    : Analyser = empty
    - Recrawl the files (after touching them)

• Alexandre Toyer

Alexandre Toyer - 2014-05-26

Hello Dave,

You can definitely use XPATH in OpenSearchServer 1.5.3, but not exactly with the process you are describing.
    You need to create a new parser, by selecting "XML (XPATH)" from the select list listing available types of parsers. You then have to fill in field "XPATH request for documents" with the XPATH to access documents. For example if your XML file contains several RSS items you can use: /rss/channel/item (this is not a particularly good example since RSS feed has its own dedicated parser in OpenSearchServer :) )