Plugin system based on bash?

Jiri Musil
2009-08-14
2013-04-13
  • Jiri Musil

Jiri Musil - 2009-08-14

Hi,

I'm quite new to OpenQRM, thanks for that, it's very good piece of soft. I was looking into the code, searching how plugins work and I was quite surprised that all (almost) plugins are based on bash. I expected that in some cases (Citrix, Vmware) API's will be used rather than bash scripts using platforms' CLIs.

Is that because you needed the plugins before the API's was created. Or is there any diferrent reason (more stability, simplicity)?

Thanks in advance.

• Matt

Matt - 2009-08-18

Hi Jiri,

:) nice to hear you like openQRM. thanks.
      And yep, most plugin interfaces are written in shell scripts.
      The reason for that is that we experienced that the API's for new technologies are changing frequently. Meaning they are in most of the time getting better but the integration will always depends on a specific API version. Shell scripts make the the developement of needed adaptions/updates easy, fast and robust.
      You are absolutely right by your assumption that we do it for more stability and simplicity.
      Less complexity also means less bugs ;)

many thanks + stay tuned,

Matt

• Jiri Musil

Jiri Musil - 2009-08-20

Hi Matt,

thank you very much for the answer. Yep, I was quite supprissed at the beginning, but it really makes perfect sense.

Have a nice weekend a lot of success with OpenQRM,
        Jiri

• Matt

Matt - 2009-08-26

:) thx + enjoy

Matt

• Anonymous - 2010-05-17

Hi Matt,
    If I may make some comments on this topic also.