Menu

OpenNLP project help (from email discussion)

2004-10-06
2013-04-16
  • Jason Baldridge

Jason Baldridge - 2004-10-06

I got an email from Danny Shacham and felt that my response should go up on the forum, as I would like to encourage someone out there to perhaps think about helping maintain the OpenNLP page, especially ensuring that links and projects are still active. Please email me and Tom Morton if you are interested!

> Quoting Danny Shacham <dannysh@gmail.com>:
    > > Dear Jason,
    > >
    > > I'm a graduate student in Computer Science, in the field of NLP,
    > > working on MultiWordNet project on Hebrew.
    > > I heard about OpenNLP and I would like to join you and participate in
    > > developing some features in it.
    > > I would think for a project I can do in the framework of OpenNLP, but
    > > If you have any suggestions, preferably regarding cross lingual
    > > projects I would be happy to hear about.
    > >
    > > Looking forward for working together,
    > > Best regards,
    > >
    > > Danny Shacham

Here's my response:
    <jbaldrid@inf.ed.ac.uk> wrote:
    > Hi Danny,
    >
    > That's great. To start, I should say that OpenNLP isn't really a framework as
    > such. Think of it more as a meeting point for those interested in open source
    > software for NLP. In the sense that it has become a fairly well known point to
    > find different projects in NLP, it has been successful. In terms of building a
    > community of people who actively develop NLP software that works together and
    > who ask each other questions about how to do stuff, it has not made much
    > impact. So in terms of developing for OpenNLP, the usual thing to do is to
    > work on some software and call it OpenNLP software and be adding to the
    > overall resources that are available. However, thinking about OpenNLP itself,
    > it would be great to have someone who is more proactive about finding new