Menu

UIMA integration; resolving the model

2010-02-16
2013-04-16
  • David Smiley

David Smiley - 2010-02-16

I am trying ot use the opennlp.uima sub-project with UIMA.  I am very new to all this technology.  Using CVS I grabbed the latest opennlp.uima and did "mvn package" which successfully generated the PEAR.  I also have the latest apache UIMA release and ran the prerequesite adjustExamplePaths.sh.  and I think another along with setting UIMA_HOME.   I installed the PEAR using the "runPearInstaller.sh" program, installing it do a directory of my choosing.  Then I ran "cpeGui.sh" where I configured a FileSystemCollectionReader, then opennlp OpenNlpTextAnalyzer and then AnnotationPrinter.  I click run but get an error:
    Caused by: org.apache.uima.resource.ResourceInitializationException: Could not access the resource data at file:SentenceFinder.bin.

Looking a little deeper at internals reveals that "file:SentenceFinder.bin" is set in the OpenNlpTextAnalyzer.xml.  What do I do to get this to resolve?

• Thilo

Thilo - 2010-02-17

So I assume pear validation went fine on install?  Please run the pear in the CVD tool that comes with UIMA.  An easy way to do so is to install it again and click the "Run your AE in the CAS Visual Debugger" button.

-Thilo

• David Smiley

David Smiley - 2010-02-17

Thanks so much for your assistance, Thilo.
    The pear installation ended with successful verification.