Menu

Date calculations in the CD rules engine

2015-11-04
2015-11-09
  • Joel Erickson

Joel Erickson - 2015-11-04

I am adapting the public version 4.2.0 to work in a therapy clinic. I understand db structure and the php files but I am not a programmer.

Medicare requires therapists to re-evaluate clients at least every 6 months from the date of the physician's referral. I can create a new rule and get a clinical reminder that the re-eval is due but the therapist would like to see the date for the re-eval on the patient info screen. Can that date be calculated from the table.field Transaction.refer_date and posted in the clinical reminder box?

Also, Medicare authorizes 23, 46, or 52 units of language therapy within 6 months depending on severity of the pathology. The therapist would like a running countdown of units available for a client. Anyone have a suggestion how I would provide that information, preferably on the patient info screen?

• fsgl

fsgl - 2015-11-04

No coding method:

1. It's not that difficult to add 6 months to the date of last previous result.

2. Enter the number of authorizations in User Defined & subtract as they're used.

Coding will be required for automation, but it may be rather difficult due to the complexity of CDR engine.

• Joel Erickson

Joel Erickson - 2015-11-05

Thank you fsgl.
    I am assuming then that a clinical rule can not be set up based on a particular date. For example, a Physician provides an order for services to begin on 12-1-15 and that date is entered in refer_date in the transactions table. The order will be good for 6 months from that date. The clinician needs to reevalate the patient by that time. The clinical reminders widget seems like the logical place for a reminder to pop up 1 month before the due date.

• fsgl

fsgl - 2015-11-06

You're welcome.