adding jobs while running

General
baigner
2011-12-14
2013-05-28
  • baigner

baigner - 2011-12-14

hey,

i am completely new to oddjob but as far as i learned its a great software with many features that make job scheduling very easy. however it seems to me that i dont even need all those features for what i want to do.
    here is my problem: i want to create a job chain that runs executables from the computer. so far its not that complicated because i can just do it by building a sequentialJob and add the execJobs within this sequential… but i need to know if there is a way to add execJobs while the others are already running. this is the only thing i need to be done. very simple problem but so far i havent found any solve…

Thank you!

PS: maybe if oddjob does not support this kind of request do you know an alternative software that can do what i want? simply spoken i just need something that batches the executable jobs just like the printer does in a print queue.

• Rob Gordon

Rob Gordon - 2011-12-14

How do you want to add the jobs? Do you want to do this programatically? What will be generating the jobs?

I think that Oddjob could quite easily support being a job server that took jobs from a queue by using the foreach job. The foreach job just reads from an Iterable and something could be written that provided an Iterable of commands that could block until another job arrived. Might this be the sort of thing you want?

Unfortunately I don't know of anything else that would do this out of the box.

Rob.

• baigner

baigner - 2011-12-14

the jobs are either batch files or .exe files that mostly take all of the CPU's capacity and therefore cant run parallel. so i just want to be able to add a .exe file manually while the previous is running so that it starts automatically when the previous is done…

like i said i am new to oddjob and all i am looking for is a program that qeues .exe files or batch files.