Snort 2.8.6.1 for NST 2.11.0

NST
Ronin
2010-09-21
2012-12-05
  • Ronin

Ronin - 2010-09-21

I have two questions regarding Snort and NST.  The 1st Qustion is can I upgrade Snort 2.8.5.1 in NST 2.11.0 to Snort 2.8.6.1, and if so how does one do that?  The 2nd question, is it possible to install 2.13.0 directly onto a harddrive, without having to create a livecd?  I must also mention that I am new to Linux and NST.

Thank You

• Ronin

Ronin - 2010-09-21

Thank you Paul for your quick response.

In answer to the 2nd question, I tried to follow the instructions in creating a LiveCD 2.13.0 in the HOWTO WIKI…..but was not successful, (probably because I don't know what I'm doing!!).  I got an error during the ./configure procedure.  It gave me the error not able to install: ATMACROS.  I thought perhaps I could still compile (if that is the right terminology) the 2.13 from the NST website.  Would you be so kind to let me know if that is not possible…..or perhaps I require a revised set of instructions. 

Thank you again Paul

• Paul Blankenbaker

Let me just say that I'm quite impressed that you are building your own copy of the 2.13.0 release (being that you are new to Linux and the NST)!

I'm assuming that you were following the instructions from the NST WIKI on building from the source:

• Using a Fedora 13 hard disk installation as your development system

• Checked out a copy of the NST source code

• Ran "./configure" from the top level check out directory

This should take a long time to run the first time (and it probably complained that you needed to yum install some packages before it could continue the build process).

NOTE: You need to be logged in as root and your system needs access to the Internet in order to build the NST (this is why we typically dedicate a system or virtual machines when doing our builds).