terminate plugin programmatically when Notepad++ is closed

Heinz
2014-01-20
2014-01-22
  • Heinz

Heinz - 2014-01-20

Hello,

I have a plugin that shows a window\form for some userinput.

I have found that, when I exit Notepad++ while this window is displayed, there is still a notepad++.exe process running in taskmanager even though Notepad++ was closed.

So I wonder how I could close all my plugin's components (window) when Notepad++ is shut down?

I have tried to catch the NPPN_SHUTDOWN event in beNotified:
    I can catch NPPN_SHUTDOWN and close the window - but still a notepad++.exe process is running.

And I have tried to close the window in DetachProcess() - but it seems that this procedure is not called.

Heinz

• dail8859

dail8859 - 2014-01-21

I'll first state I am no expert on Win32 applications.

Are you registering your window with N++ by calling NPPM_MODELESSDIALOG?

My DoxyIt plugin has 2 window's (an About window and a Settings window) and they are both correctly closed. So you can take a look at the source code and see if that helps any. The two windows I have are based off of the Window and StaticDialog class that came with the Plugin Demo code. Hope this helps and if you have any other questions or specific ones about my source code feel free to ask.

• Heinz

Heinz - 2014-01-21

Thank you for your answer.
    No, I don't register the window by calling MODELESSDIALOG.
    What I do is that I use my compiler's "ShowWindow" command.
    (This window has some controls on it like buttons, textfields for userinput.)

But I can get the handle of the window...so maybe it's worth to experiment with MODELESSDIALOG...?
    I will try.

Heinz

• Heinz

Heinz - 2014-01-21

I did some tests with calling MODELESSDIALOG - but without success.

Where should I call "sendmessage #NPPM_MODELESSDIALOGREMOVE" ?
    In DetachProcess? Or in DetachThread? Or in beNotified using "case #NPPN_SHUTDOWN" ?

Or is NPPM_MODELESSDIALOG maybe only for dockable windows?