Save as a txt file

2005-06-15
2012-11-13
  • Nobody/Anonymous

Hi all
    I'm new to Notepad ++, and when i typed a letter and went to save it, it was saved as, "well i realy don't know",
    I wanted it to be a .txt file, which i found that i can choose from the "Save As" dropdown box, but i don't want to be doing this all the time.
    How do i get Notepad ++ to save a file as a .txt file automaticly when i click Save-As,  without having to choose from the dropdown box all the time.
    If i want to save a file as something else i can choose it from the dropdown box in Save-As

thanks
    gmac

• sandeep bhimavarapu

you could just type .txt at the end of the file name
      i know its not a complete solution . sorry
      :)
      sandeep

• Nobody/Anonymous

Agreed. I'm kind of amazed that this was not a high priority from the start. Never used a text editor that didn't do this. You would think as being mostly used as a text editor that it would default to the txt extension -- especially since its blank anyway.

• Paulius

Paulius - 2005-10-22

I strongly dissagree! As a developer, i save lots of files with funny extensions, like .dlg, .dummy, .todo, .notes and so on (yes, i type theme manualy). Sometimes i don't want the file to have an extension at all so i type it's name in "Save As" dialog without extension. If Notepad++ would suddenly start adding .txt at the end - my files would be messed up.

In fact - in such cases (like saving the file) i don't like any automation at all - i want to specify filename myself, so next time i need the file - i know exactly how it is named and what extension it has.

• Nobody/Anonymous

Right, but if you have to type it in anyway, then why not just change it from a text file. NPP should just default to txt unless something else is typed in.

If working on an existing file that is already in another format then of course save in that format.