succesfull build

pjkaus
2007-08-29
2012-11-13
  • pjkaus

pjkaus - 2007-08-29

I am fairly new to windows programming and I suspect similar to others who have posted questions about compiling npp. i have been reading the source code for npp over the last month and yesterday tried to build from source for the first time. No joy with msvc8, mingw make or codeblocks. Searched the forum and was disappointed to see many requests for information on building but no helpful replies, only an acknowledgement that the make files were out of date.

I was begining to feel like jumpyfroggy that I would have to look elsewhere for a better supported opensource editor.

Downloaded 4.2 source and svn sources to find new build system with cmake.

Scintilla now builds from nmake and vc compiler flawlessly and PowerEditor builds in Visual Studio 2005 C++ Express with the one error being the omision of the PowerEditor/src/font directory. Fortunately I had kept a copy of old sources. It is also still available in the svn repository which is otherwise out of date.

Now building with Visual Studio 2005 C++ could not be simpler. All that is required is to set path, include and lib environment variable for visual studio and platform sdk, open dos box in scintilla/win32 directory and type "nmake -f scintilla.mak"
    copy font directory from cvs sources to PowerEditor/src directory of svn source code. Open PowerEditor/visual.net/notepadPlus.vcproj in  visual studio and press build.

Hopefully the font directory will be restored in due course.

• Nobody/Anonymous

Hi,

Can I built the project in Windows Vista? How? Thanks

• Nobody/Anonymous

Your message isn't all that clear to me.

Are you saying I can build NP++ from the source code using MS 2005 VC++ Express Edition?

Could you perhaps give a simple, yet complete description of what files to download, how to install and what else to configure? Please be specific, because I can't make much of your detail listing above.