WM_CREATE exception when trying to open

Anonymous
2012-01-07
2013-01-24
  • Anonymous - 2012-01-07

Hello guys!

Recently, I've noticed a very odd phenomenon. Whenever I try to launch Notepad++, I get a WM_CREATE error. This is what the window looks like:

Any idea what this problem is? I use Notepad++ extensively (I am a developer) and help on this issue would be very appreciated!

• Anonymous - 2012-01-07

You have too many windows open.  Close some and try again.

• Anonymous - 2012-01-07

Thanks for the answer! (Seriously, THANKS!)

But it's not working…it does it even when i don't have any windows open….I've also noticed that the only time Notepad++ doesn't do this is in Safe Mode.

Any other ideas? Thanks in advance. :/

• Anonymous - 2012-01-07

Also: in an attempt to give possible helpers ( :D ) an insight into my issue, here's a screenshot of Task Manager (GDI Objects, Handles, & Threads) at the time of error:

• Anonymous - 2012-01-07

And once again, I'm really sorry for the repeated replies (I'll stop now, promise!) but I wanted to mention that this error began after an attempted update to the latest version of Notepad++. I've tried downgrading, upgrading, etc., to no avail…which is why I also want to ask how would I go about COMPLETELY clearing Notepad++ out of my system. Thank in advance!

• Dave Brotherstone

I'm pretty sure this is an old plugin that expects a WM_CREATE message, but doesn't get it (it was turned off in a newer version of N++).  Remove your plugins (rename your plugins directory, for instance), and try again. 

Assuming that works, then it's just a matter of identifying which one.  Remove them one by one, or remove them all and put them back one by one (I'd just rename each one from .dll to .dlx, then put them back slowly until you get the error again).

Also, check for plugin updates in plugin manager - it's possible the error has been fixed in an update.

Cheers,
    Dave.

• Anonymous - 2012-01-09

Thanks Dave! That worked.