Turn off displaying spaces as a first character of lines (if possible)

Trejder
2013-12-16
2013-12-22
  • Trejder

Trejder - 2013-12-16

Hello!

Is there any way to prevent Notepad++ from displaing spaces as first character of some lines? Can someone help me in identifying option or parameter responsible for that?

I noticed, that for certain languages (Javascript, Pascal, Resource files), if previous line hasn't enough place to accommodate space between words, that space is shifted to the beginning of following line. While for all other languages, space is always stick to end of line, no matter, whether there is a place for it or not.

I started as Stack Overflow question on this problem, but we wouldn't be able to solve it:
    http://programmers.stackexchange.com/q/221502/57759

For as far as I can say, this should be something specific to Notepad++ itself, not to Scintilla. I've been using another Scintilla-based editor for past ten years and it hasn't got that problem. No matter, what language / lexer / styling has been selected, spaces never appeared in the beginning of any line and each and every line always started with a character by the left margin, never with a space.

Thank you in advance for any help here,
    Trejder

• Loreia2

Loreia2 - 2013-12-16

Hi Trejder,

can you post a screen shot of the problem? Also that link is of some other problem (related to read-only files).

BR,
    Loreia

• Loreia2

Loreia2 - 2013-12-17

Hi Trejder,

I can't reproduce problem on my machine. Can you try disabling plugins folder (by renaming it, and restarting N++)? Is problem still reproducible?

Also, In that screen capture, your N++ looks broken. Styles were not read in, and number of available languages is very limited. Can you try to download ZIP version and try with that one? Does it solve the problem?

BR,
    Loreia

• Trejder

Trejder - 2013-12-18

(Gosh, what a buggy site, must write everything from scratch, damn!)

Hi Loreia,