Automatic trimming trailing spaces

Lis
2010-09-14
2014-04-21
  • Lis

Lis - 2010-09-14

Hello!
    I like the notepad++, but permanently have some inconveniences.
    Because there's no way to automaticly remove trailing space from every line. Using a command from the "Edit" menu is a long way to do such a simple task.
    I would be appreciated if some day this feature is implemented.
    Thanks.

• Alexander Iljin

Alexander Iljin - 2010-09-14

What are you talking about? I've been using this feature since v4.8. You just have to use Shortcut Mapper to assign Ctrl+S to it.

• cchris

cchris - 2010-09-14

It's called Edit -> Trim trailing spaces.

CChris

• Bob Uncle

Bob Uncle - 2010-09-14

Are you serious?!

I've been using this product for over 4 years (if not longer) and I have never noticed this feature before. Yikes! The amount deletes I could of saved is huge!

Thanks Chris

- Bob (who feels like an idiot now)

• Lis

Lis - 2010-09-16

Thanks for your advice.

In my version of Notepad++ there's a macro called "Trim trailing and save" with the short cut Alt+Shift+S. Obviously it has appeared during installation. It's relatively convinient.

It's strange to me that trailing spaces irritate almost nobody. I hate these useless charactars. For ex. because when whant to delete a line I don't know how many times should I press Del before it's actualy deleted. I never know should I press Del, Backspace or select the line before deleting.

In any case thanks.

• Sune Marcher

Sune Marcher - 2010-09-16

In case you're not familiar with these standard shortcuts, try Ctrl+Del, Ctrl+Backspace - makes trailing spaces a lot less annoying :)

• Lis

Lis - 2010-09-16

Thanks again.
    But it seems to me that the ability to trim trailing spaces ought to be a configurable feature of every text editor. Especially of an editor for programmers.

• Alexander Iljin

Alexander Iljin - 2010-09-17