Menu

How to start developing Qt?

Help
2008-06-24
2013-04-16
  • German Lado

German Lado - 2008-06-24

Hi all!

I'm new in all this SF.net world and looking for a bit of help. The thing is that I must develop a software pretty much like Superkaramba but for a specific summer project. I tried to convince my supervisor about using Superkaramba but he didn't like that it is not multiplatform. I have doubts about this, if Superkaramba is based on Qt Toolkit, is it not possible to use it under windows?

I'd really like to contribute to Superkaramba project, but first of all I need to learn how to program in Qt. The project I'm enrolled in is a good way to get to know Superkaramba from its basis.

This program is some sort of multiplatform Superkaramba but with just one use, lets say just a widget/theme. I think it could be really useful for people that wants to contribute Superkaramba, to know where to start and how it works. As part of my summer project I must create a blog with all the things I'm doing to get the project done. This seems a good way of having everything documented following a time line. If anyone of you find this idea interesting and wants to see the blog just give me a shout, I don't want to spam this forum.

Knowing this, I would like you to give me a helping hand about where to start. I was recently having a look to the Qt documentation but seems a bit messy. At least for me. It would be great if you could point me in the right direction of how to set up KDevelop to work with Qt and to compile superkaramba, I use Eclipse with the Qt addon to program under windows (I hate this, need to change).

Another thing I've been trying to understand is how Superkaramba creates the Shaped Windows in the desktop, this is really annoying me, I can't find information about irregular windows using Qt.

Please help! :-)

• wirr

wirr - 2008-06-24

Hi,

okay, lets see if I can help you ;)