Menu

Error running ncidd on OSX

Kahuna J
2005-02-26
2012-09-29
  • Kahuna J

Kahuna J - 2005-02-26

I've started using my Mac as my ncidd server. Although ncidd 0.50 starts fine, all I get in /var/log/cidmodem.log is:

RING

ERRM=ICLID_202

RING

RING

I'm new at the apple modem, so I figure I didn't configure something right.

• Kahuna J

Kahuna J - 2005-02-26

Hmm...the next call I received came through okay. The call I received the error on was my brother's cell which (as noted on a previous thread) sends NMBR twice and showed up OUT-OF-AREA. Could the fix for that be related to this error?

• John L. Chmielewski

The message in cidmodem.log is the output from the modem. The error message is what the modem sent, it is not a error message from NCID, so the previous fix for number sent twice is not a factor. It's possible it is a Caller ID error message, so maybe the spec for CID would indicate what it is or maybe the modem spec will explain it.

• Kahuna J

Kahuna J - 2005-03-06

Thanks, John. Your post kicked me in the head that I never did step #1 of any question I have: google. Here's what I found for those that are interested:

"If the modem has received the line seizure (leading U characters) information at least once, but has never presented a correct packet, the modem returns the following message in place of report data: <ERRM>< + ><ICLID_202><CR>. "

That's from a pdf distributed by MultiTech.

I also re-read the install-mac instructions and found that I needed to 'set sttyclocal =1' in ncidd.conf for my Mac mini to clear up /dev/cu.modem not found. Currently, I have ncidd running and working well.

Thanks again, John.

• Kahuna J

Kahuna J - 2005-03-07

(this is turning into my own personal blog!)