mplayerplug-in 1.1 install problem in FC1

Help
michaelbr
2004-01-20
2004-01-25
  • michaelbr

michaelbr - 2004-01-20

Hello:
    I just installed FC1 with Firebird 0.7, I downloaded mplayerplug-in 1.1 rpm for FC1 and installed without any problem, there's a file in /etc/mplayerplug-in.conf but I can't find the mplayerplug-in.so file, where this file is located? Is there a doc which tells you step by step how to install this plugin for Firebird? Sorry I'm new to this so please bear with me.

Thanks in advance for any comment/suggestion.

• Erich Edgar Hoover

It's in the plugins folder for Mozilla (I believe it's /usr/lib/mozilla-1.4.1/plugins).  You need to copy the mplayerplug-in.so file into the Firebird plugins folder, which is: <place you extracted Firebird>/plugins.

If you can't find the mozilla folder su root and go "updatedb" to update the database of files on your HD and then type "locate mozilla" or "locate mozilla-1.4.1" (1.4.1 is the version that comes with Fedora).

• Kevin DeKorte

Kevin DeKorte - 2004-01-21

You can check where it goes with the command
        rpm -ql mplayerplug-in

The plugin should be in /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins

you can check the installed plug-ins in firebird by typing "about:plugins" in the location box.

• michaelbr

michaelbr - 2004-01-21

Thanks so much for all of your replies, I found it and it's showing now in the Firebird's plugins, I'll just to test it to see if it's working, is there any site which you can test the plugins?

Thanks

• michaelbr

michaelbr - 2004-01-22

I tried to test the plugin but it doesn't work, I could see the plugin showing in the about:plugins but when I went to a web site with mpeg page to test it, it showed file being downloaded then nothing happened (just a blank page). Did I miss something?

Thanks in advance for your comment/suggestion

• Kevin DeKorte

Kevin DeKorte - 2004-01-22

did you follow the "HOWTO" on the webpage?

• michaelbr

michaelbr - 2004-01-22