Ubuntu: /lib/libc.so.6 version 'GLIBC_2.11'

2010-04-15
2013-06-06
  • Steven Zalek

Steven Zalek - 2010-04-15

Hello,

I'm new to using the cross mingw cross compiler in Ubuntu, but I have used TDM's mingw compiler with CodeBlocks in windows for some time now.

I'm having some difficulty getting the mingw-w32-bin_x86_64-linux compiler properly set up in Ubuntu. I set up the mingw cross compiler in my home folder, and created a new compiler option within CodeBlocks per the wiki instructions. When I attempt to build the default  "Hello World" project I get the following error:

i686-w64-mingw32-g++: /lib/lib.so.6 version 'GLIBC_2.11' not found (required by i686-w64-mingw32-g++)
    Process terminated with status 1
    0 errors, 0 warnings

I attempted including the /lib directory in the 'Additional Paths' section of the CodeBocks mingw compiler set-up, but this did not help.

Any insight into how I can get this corrected would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    SZ

• Ozkan Sezer

Ozkan Sezer - 2010-04-15

You cannot correct that one. It means that the toolchain you tried using was built against a newer (>=2.11) version of glibc than what you have. You must either build your own toolchain, or find/use a one built against an older version of glibc (I don't know what version is included in your ubuntu.)

• Steven Zalek

Thanks!

I guess I'll have to build my own cross compiler.

• Ozkan Sezer

Ozkan Sezer - 2010-04-15

> Thanks!
    >
    > I guess I'll have to build my own cross compiler.
    >

<shameless plug> You can try one of my personal builds, though :
    the x86_64-linux hosted tools are built against glibc-2.9 and the
    i686-linux hosted ones are built against glibc-2.8. </shameless plug>

• Doug Semler

Doug Semler - 2010-04-15

It looks like the 2.11 function being pulled is mkstemps (actually a side effect of the fact that on that build machine, libiberty finds mkstemps and therefore doesn't include it in its build).