Gene Leaf Order Optimization

Help
2014-02-04
2014-02-05
  • Daria Chrobok

Daria Chrobok - 2014-02-04

Hej everybody,
    I'm new in this forum & also quite a beginner in using the program MeV. So my question could eventually be a bit ridiculous to some of you, but I'll try it anyways, as I couldn't help myself otherwise :).
    Im doing my PhD in Plant Physiology, so I might give some background information: I have a set of gene expression data, all in all around 1100 genes, already scaled down from 25000 genes, they are specific for a special organelle in the cell. Also, the data set is a time course & the sampling was done at AM & PM. I played around with MeV & did some HCL, SOMs & KMCs to get some order in the data. I already figured out that I will split up the analysis to AM & PM separately, it makes it more clear. Also I choose to use Euclidian distance, after I tried out Pearson & all the others.
    My problem or my question now is, what exactly is "Gene leaf order optimization"? What do I need/not need it for, or better, what exactly does it with my data? Because dependent on weather I choose to use the optimization or not, I get different HCL and also different clusters in the KMC analyses. When I try to sum up my 20 choosen clusters due to UP or DOWN regulation of specific genes, I come up with different gene amounts being either up or down regulated.
    So what does the gene leaf order optimization do to my dataset?
    I hope some of you will understand what I mean, if not I could try to explain it a bit more in detail.
    Thanks a lot anyways!
    Cheers,
    Dariach

• Daniel Schlauch

Daniel Schlauch - 2014-02-04