Menu

how to obtain the GradientReducedMass and GradientDifferenceMagnitude for LandauZenerCrossing?

2024-02-17
2024-02-27
  • Jianqin Qian

Jianqin Qian - 2024-02-17

Dear all, I'm new to MESMER. I would like to calculate the intersystem crossing (ISC) rate by LandauZenerCrossing mehtod implemented in MESMER. I have calculated the geometries and frequencies of reactant, product, and MECP using CASPT2//CASSCF of OpenMolcas software. However, I'm not sure how to obtain the "GradientReducedMass" and "GradientDifferenceMagnitude" needed for ISC rate calculation. According to the MESMER manual, GradientReducedMass means the reduced mass for movement along the direction orthogonal to the crossing seam, and GradientDifferenceMagnitude means the norm of the vector representing the gradient difference at the MECP. I found two papers ( DOI:10.1039/B211871H, DOI:10.1002/qua.25124) dicussed these parameters, but I still don't have a clue. Could these parameters obtained by quantum mechanical software like OpenMolcas, or do I have to use other program to calculate? Thanks in advance.

• struanr

struanr - 2024-02-18

Dear Jianqin Qian,

Thank-you for your message. I will confer with colleagues and respond shortly.

With regards, Struan

• struanr

struanr - 2024-02-27

Dear Jianqin Qian,

Firstly, my apologies for taking so long to respond, I have been trying to get details from colleagues but have so far been unsuccessful.