Menu

Install help - can't get upnp working

Help
Chris
2006-01-17
2013-05-30
  • Chris

Chris - 2006-01-17

I'm new to linux so please be gentle!  I can't get upnp to install properly, I've tried the tarball and followed the instructions in your Readme file, as well as using alien to convert the rpm to a deb package (i'm using Ubuntu), but neither seem to work.  When I try to configure mediatomb it says

checking for upnp/upnp.h... no
    configure: error: upnp/upnp.h not found. Check libupnp installation

Any help appreciated.
    Thanks,
    Chris

• Jin

Jin - 2006-01-17

well.. first thing you could check is:
      do you have a /usr/include/upnp/ directory and are the following files in there:
      config.h    iasnprintf.h  ixml.h ThreadPool.h   upnp.h FreeList.h ithread.h LinkedList.h  TimerThread.h upnptools.h

I assume that they are missing, that is why you are getting this error. Try to find out where the stuff got installed (if at all).

Did the library compile cleanly? Maybe there was a problem there?

Try following the README step by step and examine the output closely, at some point something is going wrong, we need to find out where in order to solve your problem :)

Greetings,
      Jin

• Chris

Chris - 2006-01-17

Thanks for your quick reply.  You're right, that directory and hence files don't exist.  I tried following the instructions again and paying more attention to the messgaes coming up. 

chris@chris:~/libupnp-1.2.1$ cd upnp
        chris@chris:~/libupnp-1.2.1/upnp$ make
        make[1]: Entering directory `/home/chris/libupnp-1.2.1/ixml'
        make[2]: Entering directory `/home/chris/libupnp-1.2.1/ixml/src'
        gcc -Wall -I./ -I../inc -I../../pil/inc -fPIC -c -Wall -Os -DNDEBUG -I. -I../inc -Iinc -c element.c -o obj/element.o
        In file included from inc/ixmlparser.h:35,
                         from element.c:32:
        ../inc/ixml.h:298: warning: type qualifiers ignored on function return type