can't find include files

Help
jgoldrick
2006-05-29
2013-05-30
  • jgoldrick

jgoldrick - 2006-05-29

Hi,

I am trying to compile mediatomb 0.8.1.  I am new to Linux, though I work and compile programs on UNIX.  I am having problems with compiling mediatomb.  I have set the enable--options for libmagic javascript, etc. on.  However, the configure cannot find jsapi.h, magic.h, maybe another.  One thing at a time.  Anyway, I have installed all the libraries needed, I believe.  The include files are there as well as the libs.  I have tried setting the CPPFLAGS, no good.  I have tried an rpm, but it also complained about the libs.
    Here is the error:
    checking for jsapi.h...no
    checking alternative header location..not found, giving up

Same thing happens to magic.h if I take out the enable javascript.  I am on PCLinuxOS.

I make a /usr/include/smjs dir and copied all the header files from js/src/ into it.  I have tried linking the magic.h, jsapi.h into different locations with no luck.

Any ideas?  I'm fresh out.  I'm really looking forward to trying this out on my DSM320, though I did see a post about some problems with 1.5.  Oh well, just have to see.

thanks

jim

• Jin

Jin - 2006-05-29

sorry, I can not give you support right now, we are currently on holidays in Russia and I am writing from an internt cafe

look in the forums, I think someone had a similar problem with jsapi on a suse distribution

I will be back after the 3rd of June, then I will be able to look at what is going wrong

greetings,
      Jin

• jgoldrick

jgoldrick - 2006-05-30

Thanks, jin.  Since I'm setting this computer up only as a media server, I switched to Ubuntu and was able to get it going looking at the forums.  I did have to add
      #include <time.h>
      in login.cc and web_request_handler.cc.  Now I gotta figure out how to use it (after conferences and vacation).

thanks much,

jim

• Jin

Jin - 2006-06-05

hi,