state space model zero truncated negative binomial distribution

Help
2013-10-10
2013-10-11
  • Mathieu Chevalier

Hi everybody,
    I am new in bayesian analysis and Jags. Here is my problem.
    I would like to perform state space modelling on several population time series. For each time series I would like to fit a density dependent model and then to estimate the parameter of this model (e.g. the coefficient of density dependence). This seems simmple. However, for some time series I have some transitions between Nt=0 to Nt1>=0 which correspond to a different process than the density dependent model (which modeled locol recruiotment processes). Indeed, such transitions could be explained either by colonisation from neighbouring populations or by detection error (i.e. the species is present but not detected). Therefore, the transitions from Nt=0 to Nt1>=0 have to be modeled with a different model than the transitions from Nt>0 to Nt1>=0. This correspond more or less to hurdle count model where the zeros are modeled using a binomial distribution while the positive counts are modeled using a truncated (poisson or negative binomial) distribution. I have already perform that work whithout taking into account observation error under the frequentist framework (i.e. not using state-space modelling; see the corresponding code).

Y <- c(15,0,62,37,54,0,46,0,45,40,7,0,20,28,8,25,13,0,84,96)
    sampling_area <- c(1050,1050,1050,1050,1125,1125,1125,1125,1125,1125,1080,1036.5,1035,975,1095,1095,950,1123,1125,1050)
    Nt1 <- Y[-1]
    Nt <- Y[-length(Y)]
    surface_Nt1 <- sampling_area[-1]
    surface_Nt <- sampling_area[-length(Y)]
    df <- as.data.frame(cbind(Nt,Nt1,surface_Nt,surface_Nt1,dates))
    nt_0 <- df$Nt == 0
    require(MASS)
    mod1 <- try(glm.nb(Nt1 ~ offset(log(surface_Nt1)),data=df[nt_0,],control=glm.control(maxit=1000))) #modelling the transitions from Nt=0 to Nt1>0