Menu

Unstable branch from LPC to Hopf

2024-06-11
2024-06-14
  • Lorenzo de Dominicis

Good morning, MatCont team, and thank you for the amazing work you have done. I'm pretty new to numerical continuation techniques, but I think my computation is mostly correct. I just need help with the last part of the bifurcation analysis. I have implemented a large nonlinear system of 50+ equations in the following form (i = 1...50):
    Qa_i' = Qb_i
    Qb_i' = f(Qa_i,Qb_i,L,coefficients)
    I can't report the entire system since it is close to 120 pages long. The coefficients magnitude range is from very small (1e-15) to very large (1e+8), and my only free parameter is L. The process that I followed was:

1. Found the Hopf point with an equilibrium analysis (at L = 520) (exactly where it should be!)
    2. Started limit cycle continuation from the Hopf point up to L = 590, where the code detected a LPC (where it should be!)
    3. Selected this LPC and started a continuation of the limit cycle. The next LPC was found at L = 490 (as I expected it!)
    4. Here's my problem! I want to find the unstable branch from L = 490 to the Hopf point at L = 520 (I have attached figures for reference). If I start the limit cycle analysis from L = 490, the system goes back to L = 590. Am I doing something wrong? How can I proceed?

Thank you so much for your time and assistance!

Last edit: Lorenzo de Dominicis 2024-06-11
  • hilmeijer

hilmeijer - 2024-06-11

Step 4: perhaps clear for you what you want, but not for me. You want to recompute the whole branch from the 2nd LPC to the first LPC to the Hopf, or you want to follow the branch beyond the turn? Why do steps 2&3 (stopping and restarting) at all? You could extend the curve.
    If I look at the amplitude db6.jpg, it is worth considering smaller stepsizes to get something more smooth. BTW for me it's midnight.
    Good luck. Hil

• Lorenzo de Dominicis