Install LXP as user?

Help
2008-11-28
2013-04-11
  • James Marsh

James Marsh - 2008-11-28

Greetings! I am a TOTAL newbie to Linux. I am currently using Linux Mint 5. I would like to install LXP as a user (rather than root) so that I can continue playing around with the Linux 'feel', but allow my wife to operate in a more familiar environment. Is there a way to do this?

I have already downloaded and installed the DEB package, but nothing changed. Is there something I have missed?

Thanks in advance for your help!

• Myles Green

Myles Green - 2008-11-28

Hi James (Jim?),

I recommend that you use the install script (available on the download page at sourceforge.net) for the best results, otherwise you'll be missing some important components. Trust me, the experience *without* these is... not very good. You will have to run this script as 'root' (or via the sudo command) in order to properly install it but you will *both* (you and your wife) be able to login to your preferred desktop (ie: Gnome or LookXP) via the login window (usually it's GDM with Mint) by selecting your session from the menu - either by clicking on "Sessions" and selecting what you'd like, or by pressing the F10 key and making your selection, before you login. When you make a selection other than the "default" (ie: Gnome) you'll get a pop-up window asking if you want to make this your default, in your wife's case she should click the 'make default' button. After that you can just login as usual and you'll get your preferred environment.

If you have any problems or more questions just ask here, I get all posts forwarded to my email account so I'll see them and be able to assist. FYI I'm a member of the development team as well...

Regards,

Myles

• James Marsh

James Marsh - 2008-11-29

Myles,