Menu

Unit Testing Loki.

Developers
2007-05-01
2013-04-08
  • Richard Sposato

Richard Sposato - 2007-05-01

Hi Everyone,

I want to change the SmartPtr test project to use a unit testing library instead of just assert macros.  Assertions only work in debug builds, and do not provide the type of output I want.

I intend to use the C++ Unit Test project located at: http://sourceforge.net/projects/cppunittest/

I wrote that unit test project myself because other unit test mechanism did not provide the capabilities I wanted, or did not have the robustness I required.

Please let me know your thoughts on this matter.

Sincerely,

Rich

• Guillaume CHATELET

Hi Richard,

Unit tests and non regression tests are vital to a library such as Loki and I do agree to standardize our testing code. For the moment, every developer has written its own unit test and the result is quite heterogeneous.

However, as a programmer, I know how frustrating it is to have to include libraries when the only thing you want is just have a look at some functionnalities. If I was new to Loki, I think I'd prefer the current version against a more "beautifully tested version" because you just have to download and start coding. If Loki depends on other library, I think it could prevent people from trying (and adopting : ) Loki.

What I suggest to overcome this problem is to split the downloads in two parts :
      + The standalone Loki library with no tests and no dependencies
      + A testing package that provides unit & non regressions tests standardized via a testing framework ( possibly depending on an external library).