Noobie Question about casting SmartPtr

Help
2007-05-17
2013-04-08
  • Nobody/Anonymous

Hi All,
    I'm new to Loki, so "be gentle". Anyway, I'm trying to convert my code over to using SmartPtr. I have some
    places where I try to dynamic_cast a pointer but I don't see how to do this if my class is now using a SmartPtr. Example:
    Say that I have two classes, base class A and derived class B:
    class A;
    class B:public A;

How would I convert the following code to use Loki::SmartPtr instead of regular pointers?
       bool SomeFunction(A* ptrA)
       {
          B* ptrB = dynamic_cast<B*>(ptrA);
          if(ptrB)
          {
             return true;
          }
          return false;
       }

Thanks for any help.

• Peter Kuemmel

Peter Kuemmel - 2007-05-17

You must cast the raw pointer:
      dynamic_cast<B*>(ptrA->GetPointer());

Peter

• Alber Kami

Alber Kami - 2008-07-24

Hello,

If you dynamic_cast the raw pointer you can't use the result in SmartPtr any more!
        There should be a way to down cast a SmartPtr<Base> to SmartPtr<Derived> conserving the SmartPtr logic.

Is eny one know how to do it, or why isn't it implemented ?
        rich_sposato said the ability to get raw pointer was removed with StrongPtr,
        What one should do if he wants to down cast StrongPtr ?

Shaul

• Nobody/Anonymous

sorry for this delayed response.
      I tried changing my calls to:

dynamic_cast<B*>(ptrA->GetPointer());

but I received the following compilation error:

1>c:\bivdev\ve-suite\ve_open\xml\cad\cadnodetraverser.cxx(113) : error C2039: 'GetPointer' : is not a member of 'VE_XML::VE_CAD::CADNode'
      1>        c:\bivdev\ve-suite\ve_open\xml\cad\cadnode.h(67) : see declaration of 'VE_XML::VE_CAD::CADNode'

which tells me that it tried to resolve the operator-> on the actual class rather than using SmartPtr functionality. So I then tried using