GUI Accessibility

Anonymous
2009-11-24
2013-09-17
1 2 > >> (Page 1 of 2)
  • Anonymous - 2009-11-24

Hi,

I'm a blind user, and I realized that llcon is not accessible with ascreen reader at all. I'm not sure how GUI of Llcon is developed, but is that possible to develop GUI using standard Windows native GUI components? I think the idea of Llcon is wonderful, so I'd like to try it!
    I'm pretty sure there are many blind musicians who want to try it as well when it is accessible. I'd really appreciate if you take it into consideration.
    Thanks,

• Volker Fischer

Volker Fischer - 2009-11-25

llcon uses QT which should have accessibility technologies included. Unfortunately, I have no experience with this.

What do you mean by "not accessible with ascreen reader at all"? Do you mean that the GUI controls cannot be identified?
    Are there free tool available with which I could test the screen reader issue here at my PC?

• Anonymous - 2009-11-25

The mainstream screen readers are Jaws for Windows and window Eye, but they're quite expensive.
    You can try open source screen reader called nvda which can be found at http://www.nvda-project.org/.
    If you use qt4, you would need to do some extra coding to make the gui accessible. Google "qt4 accessibility", and you'll find some information. Thank you so much for your consideration.

• Volker Fischer

Volker Fischer - 2009-11-26

I was doing some research regarding accessibility in Qt. It seems that assigning a text and a short description to each GUI control is very easy. But implementing further accessibile information like the value of a control seems to be quite complex.
    Do you think having a text and short description for each control would make it possible to use the llcon software for you?

• Anonymous - 2009-11-27

Thanks so much for the consideration. I haven't used it, so I have no idea how much information I'd need in order to use it successfully.