Menu

Compute genetic map based on known physical order

2024-05-28
2024-06-28
  • Faridul Islam

Faridul Islam - 2024-05-28

Dear Pasi,
    We previously addressed an issue with the Filtering2 command in another thread. Today, I'd like to discuss a different topic related to linkage map generation.

I have access to the reference genome for the plant I'm studying, which was used for SNP calling. Since I know the physical position of the markers, I want to create a linkage map based on this known order.

On the Wiki page, I found the following command:

java -cp bin/ OrderMarkers2 evaluateOrder=order2.txt data=data_f.call improveOrder=0 >order1.3.txt

Before proceeding, I have two questions:

1. Is this command suitable for my situation (generating a linkage map based on a known physical order)?

2. What format should the marker order file "order2.txt" be in? Should it list marker names in their physical order, or simply use numerical identifiers (1, 2, 3, etc.) chromosome-wise?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Best Regards,
    Farid

• Pasi Rastas

Pasi Rastas - 2024-05-29

Dear Farid,

Thank you for your question.

The parameter combo evaluateOrder and improveOrder=0 is the way. The order must be given with the numerical identifiers. Lep-Anchor wiki contains some examples of this: http://sourceforge.net/projects/lep-anchor .

Cheers,
    Pasi

• Yess Alvarez

Yess Alvarez - 2024-05-29

Hi pasi and Farid,

I´m in a similar situation. I have used a reference genome from a very closely related species to my species of interest for SNP calling. Since I know the physical position of the markers, I want to create a linkage map based on this known order.

Reading the wiki on how to generate this file, I found:

awk -f liftover chr1.agp order1.input|sort -V|grep CHR >order1.liftover
    - assuming scaffolds/contigs are named CHR.... (default for makeagp*)