#1165 after conversion to 1.4 previous 1.3.39 users only get menu "new window" and "logout" menu option

1.4
closed-invalid
None
5
2014-06-06
2014-06-02
mvb88
No

I upgraded from 1.3.38 to 1.3.39. Then I copied the DB to a new name (db14) in setup.pl of 1.3.39. This db14 was then opened with setup.pl using latest 1.4.5b, then I rebuild the DB so it matches with 1.4.

previous users have only see menu "new window" and "logout" menu option when logging on to db14.

As a workaround I added a new user via setup.pl (1.4) and gave that "full permissions" when I log on as this user to db14 then I cannot see the menu "system/Admin users" to manage permissions of others, it does have all the other menu items.

When I re-log on to setup.pl to edit the newly created user permissions via that way then this newly created user does not show and I can only create a new user. Is this intended behaviour?

To me this seems unwanted behaviour in the migration, I have not tested this behaviour on a fresh DB created with 1.4

Question on the side: How to make sure that either old users become usable or how to give a newly created user really full permissions in order to repair the old user accounts?

Discussion

  • Erik Huelsmann

    Erik Huelsmann - 2014-06-02

    Hi,

    This isn't behaviour due to the migration, rather it's behaviour that's part of your copying the database: the access rules are tied to the name of the database. When the database changes names, the access rules no longer match (my name) and the user looses access.

    Rather than migrating a copy, consider making a copy and migrating the original. Then, when you want to go back to the non-migrated database, drop the migrated one and copy the original back to its original name.

    Regards,

    Erik.

     
  • mvb88

    mvb88 - 2014-06-04

    Indeed that was it, an RTFM. Works well when keeping the name of the DB the same and then migrate the role are applied correctly.

     
  • Chris Travers

    Chris Travers - 2014-06-06

    I am going to go ahead and close this. We are looking at a more general solution to make it more robust in this case however. So closing "not a bug" but expect enhancements to fix it in the near future.

     
  • Chris Travers

    Chris Travers - 2014-06-06
    • Description has changed:

    Diff:

    --- old
    +++ new
    @@ -1,4 +1,3 @@
    -
     I upgraded from 1.3.38 to 1.3.39. Then I copied the DB to a new name (db14) in setup.pl of 1.3.39. This db14 was then opened with setup.pl using latest 1.4.5b, then I rebuild the DB so it matches with 1.4.
    
     previous users have only see menu "new window" and "logout" menu option when logging on to db14.
    
    • status: open --> closed-invalid
    • assigned_to: Chris Travers
     

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:





No, thanks