Menu

Unexpected Attribute Name in Change LDIF?

2015-08-20
2015-09-01
  • Jason "JRSofty" Reed

Hi,

I'm just starting out working with your SDK for use in importing a change LDIF and checking that there are no errors before applying it to the Directory Service. My first work right now is trying to see how to actually read through the change LDIF file I'm doing this by creating an instance of the LDIFReader(pathToFile) and iterating thorugh the file with the readChangeRecord() method. While this happens I get the following message:

LDIFException(lineNumber=61444, mayContinueReading=true, message='The modify change record starting at or near line 61444 has attribute name mhsDLMembers;binary where mhsDLMembers

When I browse the Directory Service I see that the mhsDLMembers attribute for this record is a table with two columns which only the second column is filled. The mhsDLMembers;binary contains Base64 encoded data that I'm pretty sure describes this table or at least a row entry on this table.

What seems really confusing to me is that the LDIFReader throws this exception but how does it know to expect the mhsDLMembers element but not the mhsDLMembers;binary? I've not made a connection to the DS as of yet since I'm just working with the LDIF right now. According to the stack trace the exception is thrown from LDIFReader.java:3253.

Regards,
    Jason Reed

Last edit: Jason "JRSofty" Reed 2015-08-20
  • Neil Wilson

Neil Wilson - 2015-08-20

The exception message indicates that the LDIF modify change record looks something like:

dn: cn=something,dc=naming,dc=context
    changetype: modify
    add: mhsDLMembers
    mhsDLMembers;binary:: {base64-encoded-data}

It should actually look something like:

dn: cn=something,dc=naming,dc=context
    changetype: modify
    add: mhsDLMembers;binary
    mhsDLMembers;binary:: {base64-encoded-data}