Menu

LDAP Connection Pool

2013-11-26
2013-11-28
  • Oscar Golden L.

Oscar Golden L. - 2013-11-26

Hello,
    Thanks for sharing that piece of software. It is really appreciated.
    I am fairly new to the SDK. I've been experimenting with the FailOverServerSet (v2.3.5) to implement a pool with some specific requirements. I am kind of stuck and I was wondering if the SDK allows me easily to manage my pool with the rules below.

The set-up is made of 3 LDAP servers.
    * Primary server : S1 (highest priority)
    * Secondary servers: S2, S3 (S3 having a lower priority than S2)

Pool Management Rules:

1. If S1 is up
      • all connections should be directed to S1
    2. If S1 goes down

• After N=3 failed attempts to S1, the system should failover to S2 occurs (N must be configurable)
      • After the failover to S2, I want S1 to be put in quarantine for Tq seconds (Tq configurable)
      • After the quarantine expires, as soon as S1 recovers, all new connections should failback to S1
        • One option is to use a mechanism to check periodically (every X seconds) if S1 is back up (X configurable).
    3. If S1 does not recover

• all connections should be directed to S2
      • If S2 goes down
        • All connections should failover to S3 after N=3 failed attempts
        • S2 should be put in quarantine for Tq seconds, and so on ...

Here is what I've come up with so far.

1. Create a LDAPConnectionPool with a FailoverServerSet.
    2. I was not able to figure out how to configure
      • N, number of failed attempts before the failover
      • Tq, the quarantine duration. Setting maxFailoverConnectionAge = Tq did not work.
      • X, the frequency of the periodic checks. autoReconnect does not work with pooled connection
      • Any idea how to periodically check the availability of the failed server. How to use the LDAPConnectionPoolHealthCheck class is not clear to me.

Any pointers (even to existing code) would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanx.