newbie needs help

Help
Michael
2013-10-07
2013-10-08
  • Michael

Michael - 2013-10-07

I'm using Kompozer to try to edit some existing html files that I have. When I first open them they look fine but after I save and reopen them everything on the page is thrown all over the place. It's like it's trying to save it as a different file type or something.

I'm a newbie and just trying to use this program to edit simple text to update a website. Any thoughts on what could be causing this would be great. Thank you.

• TexTech

TexTech - 2013-10-07

In your reply to this message, include a link to the webpage you are editing.

Since you are a newbie, have you tried creating a simple test page, then add something to it, and start building a webpage in a way that helps you to start understanding what is going on? If you do this, send a link to those pages so someone else can look at what you are doing and try to help by seeing actual coding, not just your perceived descriptions of your coding.

• Michael

Michael - 2013-10-07

Yes thanks you're right, here is what the page looks like before I try to save it in Komposer http://www.manchesterguitartutor.com/prices.html

And it looks like this after I save it in Komposer http://www.manchesterguitartutor.com/test.html

I'm just not sure why it instantly throws everything around the page once I've saved it, I've tried playing around a little with the save settings in preferences but no luck.

Thank you

• TexTech

TexTech - 2013-10-08

OK, not sure, as I am very tired tonight (Dallas), but in test.html try changing the following lines (in the Source tab):

---div id="header">
    ---div class="narrow-text">
    ---div class="clear">

to (change the 3 dashes to the lesser than bracket)

---div id="header" />
    ---div class="narrow-text" />
    ---div class="clear" />

KompoZer has not been updated in (seems like forever), so I have seen other anomalies in the way it reformats html coding.