Menu

How to download entire site, edit, re-publish?

Help
2016-09-02
2022-02-14
  • Dougmeister

Dougmeister - 2016-09-02

I am new to Kompozer. I tried downloading a single file via FTP, edited it in an HTML editor, and re-uploaded it. It broke all kinds of things. Luckly, I had made a copy of the source file on the web server and put it back.

I then tried opening the local file in Kompozer, saving it, and FTP'ing it, but again, it broke everything.

I then opened the URL of the page in question with Kompozer. I read that I should "publish" the file from within Kompozer.

1) Is that true?
    2) Is there a way to download the entire web site to my local hard drive?

• TexTech

TexTech - 2016-09-02

You can download your entire website while you are logged into it via FTP.

Other websites may or may not be fully copyable using the programs mentioned by Paolo.

Kompozer is quite old, but I still use it. My needs are simple, so it works for me. Kompozer has not been updated in a very long time.

As you noted in your question, sometimes Kompozer (which is an html editor) will mess up a web page. It has done that to me once or twice. ALWAYS keep an original copy of any webpage you are modifying. Which html editor did you use to edit your webpage?

The Publish function in Kompozer is there for convenience. There is no difference between uploading a file using Publish or FTP. The main difference is if you are putting a file in a subdirectory. With Kompozer, you have to remember the name of the subdirectory and manually type in it in. With FTP you can see your website's structure, so clicking on it is easier.

• Dougmeister

Dougmeister - 2016-09-27

So to make simple changes, I should open the file on the target website and save it there?

(After making a full backup on my local hard drive, of course)

• TexTech

TexTech - 2016-09-29

You can edit the file while it is on website. I don't.