Menu

Annotating With knowtator

Deerman
2009-02-07
2013-04-23
  • Deerman

Deerman - 2009-02-07

Hello. I am new to the Knowtator/Annotating world.

I have successfully installed Knowtator with Protege. I am following the following tutorial to perfrom a simple annoation: http://knowtator.sourceforge.net/quickstart.shtml.

However, I am hitting a wall.

In the section of the tutorial labeled: "Your first annotation"

I am trying to annotate a document that has the names of people. So I select some text, then right click on person, then "create person annotation". A Knowtator Test Instance appears on the right side of the screen I don't see anything happening with the document.; even when I press next. No names are highlighted.

Also, how does Knowtator know to highlight names of people when it doesn't know what names are or that the person class even represent the names of people?

Thank you

• Philip Ogren

Philip Ogren - 2009-02-08

This is unexpected behavior indeed.  Are you running on Windows?  If so, then you probably have a console window that appears when you start Protege.  If you are seeing a stack trace or any other message, then please post it.  This will help me diagnose what is going on.

Knowtator does not know to highlight anything.  Knowtator is a manual data entry tool.  There is no magic - just a lot of tedious work.  If you are wanting automatic annotation, then Knowtator is not your tool.  However, it is possible (and common) to pre-populate a Knowtator annotation project with automatic annotation from some other system.  This is useful when you want to apply human reviewed corrections to automatically generated annotations.

• Deerman

Deerman - 2009-02-08

This is the error I get when I create a new annotation object.

Help
      Protege Wizards v1.0 beta build 14
      Loaded standard Protege wizards library
      INFO: Load time for file:\C:\Program%20Files\Protege_3.3.1\TestingOnly.pprj = 6
      sec (project) + 17 sec (ui)