Menu

numbering title tag

Terry W
2015-06-21
2015-06-21
  • Terry W

Terry W - 2015-06-21

I want to append a 3-digit number prefix on each Title tag (my car's mp3 player plays the files of a folder sorted by Title tag only), e.g. title 1, some other title 2, any old title 3 would become: 001 title 1, 002 some other title 2, 003 any old title 3

Is there a (hopefully easy) way to do this using Kid3?

• Urs Fleisch

Urs Fleisch - 2015-06-21

Use %{track.3} instead of %{track}.

• Terry W

Terry W - 2015-06-21

Wow, thanks for the very quick response! but, I am new to using Kid3 so can you provide a more complete description of how to do this? Also, I do not want to use the info from the Track Tag, I want to just use absolute numbering starting with 001 and continuing through nnn independent of what is in the Track Tag field.

• Urs Fleisch

Urs Fleisch - 2015-06-21

The format used to create file names from tags is in the line edit labeled "Format: <arrow up="">". It contains "%{track} %{title}" by default. You have to change this to "%{track.3} %{title}" in order to have 3 digits in the track when clicking the "From Tag 1" or "From Tag 2" button at the right side of the line edit.

Generating track numbers in the file name without using a tag value is only possible using Export to clipboard using a custom format with "%{title}" and then importing from clipboard using the "Title" format. But this seems to be a bit complicated. You would better use Tools/Number Tracks and then use the values in the track tag frame to set the file names using the procedure described above. If you do not want to keep the track tag, you could delete it afterwards.

• Terry W

Terry W - 2015-06-21