2013-08-21
2013-08-26
  • Comment has been marked as spam. 
    Undo

You can see all pending comments posted by this user  here

Anonymous

Anonymous - 2013-08-21

Hi,

I am creating a correspondence analysis with some data (I posted the previous question about multiple documents as well).

I am quite new with this type of software so more and more questions arise. In my txt document, I have propositions coming from cognitive maps. For example: "climate change requires concrete measures". When I create the correspondence analysis, I get the words "climate" and "change" separated. I would like them to be a set of words ("climate change", "decision making" and so on).

I have seen the coding option of the program but I am not sure if that is the solution. Please, what should I add to the txt document so these words appear as a set?

Again, sorry if the question is a bit obvious, but I am a complete newbie :)

Thanks in advance!

• HIGUCHI Koichi

HIGUCHI Koichi - 2013-08-21

Thank you for your post!
    It is very important question.

Basically we have two or three choices.

[1] We can pick up any arbitrary strings like “decision making” as a word. To do this, go to [Pre-Processing] [Select Words to Analyze] in the menu bar, input strings to the “force pick up” text field.

[2] As you wrote, we can use coding rules to pick up multi-words concepts. You can use coding rules like this:

*a word
    decision

* both words
    decision and ( making or make )

* words in close positions 1 (the distance between words <= 15 words)
    near(decision-make) or near(decision-making)

* words in close positions 2 (in a same sentence and the distance between words <= 15 words)
    near(decision-make)[b] or near(decision-making)[b]

* words in close positions 3 (in a same sentence and the distance between words <= 3 words)
    near(decision-make)[b3] or near(decision-making)[b3]

[3] Just don’t care about it.

Now, my recommendation in this case is [3] or [2].