When the user choose to delete a record, or delete a group, KeePass displays a delete confirmation window asking if the user really wants to delete.
However, that window does not explicitly say *what* is about to be deleted, and it is possible for the user to slip when right-clicking DELETE and to be highlighting an unintended record/group. It would be a significant improvement if
- the delete confirmation window mentioned the NAME of the record about to be deleted
- the delete confirmation window mentioned the NAME of the group about to be deleted
Further, the current delete window, when deleting a GROUP, warns that the group and all its contained records will be deleted. This is disturbing and inappropriate when the group does not contain any records - it causes the user to double-check the contents of and empty group. So I suggest that, in the case of deleting a GROUP/SUBGROUP,
- the delete confirmation window warns that the group will be deleted, and names that group, when the group is empty
- the delete confirmation window warns that the group will be deleted, and names that group, AND warns that the contained records will be deleted ONLY when the group is not empty.
Passwords are serious business and we should do all we can to be very explicit and to help the user not to make a mistake.
Log in to post a comment.