Menu

PCLinuxOS Dependency Problem

Help
phillfri
2007-11-19
2013-04-30
  • phillfri

phillfri - 2007-11-19

Unfortunately, installing the PCLinuxOS kb2kskype rpm declares a missing dependency for usbb2k_api. Of course, there aren't any rpms for usbb2k_api so one has to compile and install it oneself. One can tell Synaptic to ignore the dependency and go ahead and install kb2kskype. But the next time one attempts to upgrade any package the Synaptic package manager in PCLinuxOS insists on uninstalling kb2kskype because it can't find the usbb2k_api dependency. Makes sense I guess, since usbb2k_api is not installed via an rpm.

I'm relatively new to Linux, so perhaps I'm missing something. But I notice that there haven't been rpms for the usbb2k_api module for some months now. But if this dependency affects all the package managers as it does Synaptic in PCLinuxOS, then there doesn't appear to be much reason to even making the kb2kskype distro specific rpms?

• phillfri

phillfri - 2007-11-19

Trying to compile bk2kskype in PCLinuxOS 2007 I'm getting the same error message as mentioned in the following post:

https://sourceforge.net/forum/forum.php?thread_id=1850093&forum_id=653443

I tried to make sure that the required modules were installed per your response to that post, but there seems to be quite a bit of difference in module names. This is what I end up with when going through Synaptic on PCLinuxOS:

PCLinuxOS Module Names
                          -------------------------
      libusb-devel                 libusb-devel
      alsa-lib-devel              libalsa2-devel
      kdelibs-devel                  kdelibs-devel
      qt-devel                  libqt4-devel, libqt3-devel
      automake 1.9 on kubuntu        
      libjpeg-devel-6b on fedora)    
      g++                     g++
      alsa-utils                  alsa-utils
      libX11-devel                 libx11_6-devel