Close

What subset of TeX is recognized

jdem
2007-06-03
2013-04-29
  • jdem

jdem - 2007-06-03

Hello,

I'm a newbie with jsMath since I've just installed the PmWiki Cookbook/Recipe. JsMath is very useful and its rendering of math formulas is excellent.

But I've encountered some unknown TeX math keywords (I'm using the Wikipedia TeX formula page as a quick reference). What is the subset of TeX which is recognized by jsMath.

Many thanks.

• Davide P. Cervone

JsMath implements nearly the complete set of Plain TeX macros in math mode, with the exception of not handling the complete box
      semantics or stretchable glue.  JsMath does not implement the macros used for formatting text-mode material (is assumes you will use HTML for that).  JsMath implements a handful of LaTeX environments, but by no means all.  There is an extension that defines the symbols in the AMS math fonts.

You can use the \def or \newcommand commands to define simple macros that are not currently available.  You can even put those into a separate file so that it is easier to load them into multiple pages.  It is even possible to bind TeX macros to JavaScript routines in order to implement more complex commands, though this is not well documented.  You can use some of the extensions (such as the one for mimeTeX) as examples.

On my list of things to do is to make a comprehensive list of the macros and environments available in jsMath, but that has not been done yet.

If you can tell me which macros you want to use that aren't available, I may be able to suggest how to proceed.

Davide

• Davide P. Cervone

PS, if you provide the URL for the reference page that you are using, I can say which macros are and are not available in jsMath.

Davide

• jdem

jdem - 2007-06-04

I'm using the french page:

http://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aide:Formules_TeX